WRC - Neuville at last take his first 2017 victory
13 April 2017

Racing world
WRC - Neuville at last take his first 2017 victory


Thierry Neuville (Hyundai) won last weekend the Tour de Corse – Rallye de France, after leading most of the WRC rallies in 2017. Four different manufacturers have won the first four rallies of the 2017 season. The last time that happened in World Rally Championship was back in 1986.

Sébastien Ogier finished in second place on Ford Fiesta, recovering from a final morning electrical problem and overtaking Dani Sordo in the final speed test which extended his championship lead. Sordo finished 1.3sec further back in an i20.

Jari-Matti Latvala won the final live TV Power Stage on a Toyota Yaris and claimed five bonus points. Ogier took four points for second, while Craig Breen secured three. Sordo and Neuville took two and one point respectively.


WRC Standing 2017

1       Sébastien Ogier FRA  Ford          88

2       Jari-Matti Latvala       FIN   Toyota      75

3       Thierry Neuville        BEL  Hyundai   54

4       Ott Tanak                    EST   Ford          48

5       Dani Sordo                  ESP   Hyundai   47    


Next race Rally Argentina, Cordoba, 27-30 April.